Thing 17: Taking notes

How could we use the notebook structure to compartmentalise notes about different aspects of our research?

OK so I have had some major problems with my laptop with the keyboard not working … and then the mouse not working. I have been taking notes old school way in a very big note book. This is only because my computer has been in the shop 6 times to get the keyboard and the mouse working again. This morning when I went to check my emails the keyboard once again is not working. I know you guys are thinking just get a new laptop but the struggle is real and this is not within my budget just yet.

Note taking is such a pain on my computer. So I thought I’ll just give you some tips on how I managed my notes on paper. When I take notes I use a new page everyday and I just simply date it this is how I remember where in my note book I might have written something that I needed. I try and write titles and I find that I can mind map much faster then if I was using my computer. In my calendar I have a schedule in where I should be within my research, I also try to update it if I’m behind or ahead so I know not to go back to certain things till much later or I urgently need to finish something before I can move forward.

With my experience with my laptop I am still very happy to write things down. It’s cheap, if I have an idea I can pull out my note book and jot it down. I can see the benefits of evernote but it requires you to have a very good working computer.

Leave a comment