Thing 8: Social Network

I really don’t like Social networks because you give a lot of your personal and professional information out that it feel likes everyone knows you, but they don’t. Lately though I find myself on Facebook … I wonder if that is because I’ve just finished my Masters and really have nothing better to do?

My thoughts on social networks are schizophrenic, sometimes my alter ego comes out and I say things that I might (scratch that I know I would) not say out aloud. This could be one of the dangers of using social networks for research. It offers feed back (+&-), ability to load information, videos and your own voice. As I’m typing this I’m thinking ummm this isn’t a bad thing maybe this could be good. So I wonder what is the difference between FB and a Blog? Ok I’m going off on a tangent here, big picture I think FB is good, I go on more then I make phone calls, I like what other people are doing and I’m getting in some reading everyday.

I also belong to LinkedIn but I don’t go on here unless I see someone I know trying to contact me. I have had many job offers on LinkedIn which was cool but I’m still interested in studying. That’s pretty much all I think about LinkedIn. If anyone could tell me how to use LinkedIn a bit better I would be interested.

Leave a comment